Getting Started… Step #1

Where do you begin?

According to the book “Work Less, Make More” by Jennifer White, you only need three things.

  1. A journal.
  2. Support Network
  3. Courage

Really, just those three items? Yeppers. When I first heard this in my networking group for career changers, I didn’t have a journal. I’m not really the journaling type (if there is such a thing). I do love to write, but find myself making lists more than journaling.

I was somewhat surprised by a journal. But, I was open. I appreciate having new perspectives and tangible tools that are applicable. It helps me make progress. And, this author seemed to be on the right track… so, why not.

Plus, our group facilitator explained how the physical act of writing makes different neurons “pop” off in your brain (hand to paper – this does not include typing on the computer).  From them you can gain clearer perspectives, creativity, a new way to look at things. It made sense.

After the meeting, it was off to Target for me to find a journal that would inspire me to write in it.

One thought on “Getting Started… Step #1

Leave a Reply

