We interrupt this regularly scheduled broadcast… with the following announcement.

So… I went to a small business adviser yesterday. And, got some good information and advice. Let me just say that if you have an idea of starting your own business venture, check out: SBDC (Small Business Development Center) at Texas State. Their services are free and can help with everything from starting a sm. business, legal, resources, payroll, setting up HR… you name it, they’ve got it. They are funded by the state and do not advertise, except for word of mouth. Definitely a worthwhile resource!! (Part one… of announcement.)

compass_pocketI wanted to go & get a good sense of what I need to do in order to get this vision up and running. I’ve started feeling as if I’m going in circles without any direction. I’ve gotten a lot done… but, felt like I needed some expert guidance. Specifically with the coffee house. Since that would be a business bringing in a profit. How does that partner with a non-profit and how do you start it? Or… is it fully a non-profit?

What do I need to know?

We used white boards… it was wonderful! Great for the visual or kinesthetic learner/processor. That’s me!

The adviser (Ron Hash), helped me sort out how the process of building a business went together… what my next steps are, what I need to think about, what I need to take into consideration. He broke it down into baby steps (although, the steps are not easy). Also, how to tie in this blog as part of it.

There was also talk about how what I’m trying to accomplish may not be a non-profit after all, but more along the lines of social entrepreneurship. What does that mean?

By his definition…I am creating a sustainable business model that is designed for the betterment of the community. That’s kinda big… that would send me in a completely different direction as to how I was planning to set this up. Something to think about. I’ll have to take some time… and process through that.  (Part two… of announcement.)

My next step is writing a solid, clearly defined business plan. A road map. (Not for the purpose of asking for money, but business-plan1for the purpose of being clearly defined.) I’ve got four drafts already. And, am now moving on to number five. I want to hear your feedback.  Since I am making the necessary steps to make this a reality, it is important to me to hear your feedback. And, not just on the business plan, but with the vision as well. Thanks to those of you who have already been leaving feedback. Most appreciated.  (Part three… of announcement.)

Before I show off a gleaming new business plan, lets finish the vision first. Next post… building community through art and how that plays a role in the coffee house.

One thought on “We interrupt this regularly scheduled broadcast… with the following announcement.

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

